为什么选择 PENDLETON® 面料?

以下是对纽约大学 Fashion In/Action 的 Leia Pellot 的采访摘录

莱娅佩洛特:

 

首先,我要感谢您同意通过借出您的作品并作为我们在 Fashion In/Action Symposium 上的主旨发言人来参与。您的 Split Shot 面具是我在 Instagram 上发现的您的第一个设计,我被您制作的作品之美所震撼。您在手工制作每件作品时所付出的关注和关怀也给我留下了深刻的印象。 Pendleton® 面料有一段有趣的历史,作为一家非土著公司,其产品已成为土著文化的重要组成部分。  

您在设计中使用了很多 Pendleton® 面料,包括在 Split Shot Mask 中;这段历史如何创造性地对你说话?您希望它如何与购买并对您的作品感兴趣的人交流?

科琳娜·艾默里奇:

 

感谢您邀请我并将我的作品包含在展览中。很荣幸与大家一起开展这项倡议,并通过着装的视角关注紧迫的问题。

我的作品融合了生活经验,并植根于我自己的历史,并从我的视觉艺术背景中汲取灵感。我对 Pendleton® 面料的使用虽然较新,但现在已成为 EMME Studio 视觉效果的基石。当我在俄勒冈长大时,Pendleton® 毯子无处不在。我们的房子到处都是——一些有天赋,一些通过 powwow 抽奖获得。虽然公司本身不是土著拥有的,但毯子已成为一种泛土著文化指标。它们在 powwow 巡回演出中很普遍,在你阿姨的家里,并且经常在社区内分享、赠送或交易。我的第一条 Pendleton® 毯子是高中毕业时送给我的礼物,至今仍躺在我的沙发上。

彭德尔顿毛纺厂最初于 1895 年在俄勒冈州彭德尔顿开业。受土著贸易毯子启发的编织毯子和长袍,主教,一个白人定居者家庭,看到了制造这些毯子并将它们出售给邻近部落的市场。该工厂选择了土著设计、熟练的织布工以及对当地羊毛牧羊人的支持,这巩固了他们 150 年来的成功。还应该指出的是,提花编织工艺本身直接取自俄勒冈州的土著民族,用于大量生产并从这些邻国获得资本。

 

今天,毯子和设计已成为原住民视觉形象的代名词。它的历史并非没有争议。虽然他们保持着一种共生关系,但许多土著创意人员通过从土著人那里获取符号、艺术和想法而无需立即获得信用或补偿,从而引起了人们对公司乏味的文化挪用的关注。选择使用彭德尔顿的泛土著文化指标的土著人在代表和挪用之间走得很好。我不希望这种对话被忽略,因为这是我每天在自己的工作中解开的东西。

直到 90 年代,彭德尔顿才真正开始雇佣土著创意人员与之合作。此后,他们实施了支持土著社区、设计师和分享利润的举措,最引人注目的是美国印第安人学院基金和美洲印第安人国家博物馆。

所以问题仍然存在,为什么我个人选择在我的设计中使用 Pendleton 面料?正如我们所看到的,从 Lindsey Thornburg 到 Opening Ceremony 的非本土品牌从使用我们的传统作品中获利,无论是否受到启发,作为一名本土设计师使用这些仍然如此流行的面料工作,有一种回归的感觉在我们的社区内。我有机会为所有人创作作品。我们正处在如此多的消费者都在问,“作为一个非本地人,我可以穿这个吗?”我们给出的响亮答案是肯定的,因为该设计并非植根于仪式实践或传统。如果是,我不会卖给你。我不会把它卖给任何人。我不会为了资本出卖我的传统。

同样作为太平洋西北部的孩子,使用这些在我的家乡由当地羊毛牧羊人手工编织的材料感到自豪。该公司致力于可持续和可再生实践,并认识到其产品固有的循环性。对 EMME Studio 来说非常重要的东西。

在这里继续阅读完整的采访......

WHY PENDLETON® FABRICS?

The following is an excerpt from an interview with Leia Pellot of NYU's Fashion In/Action

Leia Pellot:

 

I’d like to start by thanking you for agreeing to participate by lending your work and being our keynote speaker at the Fashion In/Action Symposium. Your Split Shot mask was the first of your designs that I discovered on Instagram and I was struck by the beauty of the work you produced. I was also impressed by the attention and care you put into producing each piece by hand. Pendleton® fabric has an interesting history, as a non-Indigenous company whose products have become a big part of Indigenous culture. 

You use a lot of Pendleton® fabrics in your designs, including in the Split Shot Mask; how does this history speak to you creatively? How do you want it to speak to the people who purchase and are interested in your work?

Korina Emmerich:

 

Thank you for having me and for including my work in the exhibit. It’s been an honor to work with you all on this initiative and bring attention to imperative issues through the lens of dress.

My work is an amalgamation of lived experiences as well as rooting into my own histories and drawing from my visual arts background. My use of Pendleton® fabrics, while more recent, has now become a cornerstone of the EMME Studio visual. When I was growing up in Oregon, Pendleton® blankets were everywhere. We had them all over my house - some gifted, some won through powwow raffles. While the company itself is not Indigenous-owned, the blankets have become a sort of pan-Indigenous cultural indicator. They’re prevalent on the powwow circuit, in your Auntie’s house, and are often shared, gifted or traded within community. My first Pendleton® blanket was gifted to me upon graduating high school and still lays on my couch to this day.

The Pendleton Woolen Mill was originally opened in 1895 in Pendleton, Oregon. Weaving blankets and robes inspired by Native trade blankets, the Bishops, a white settler family, saw a market in creating these blankets and selling them to neighboring tribes. The mill’s co-option of Indigenous designs, skilled weavers and its support of local wool shepherds going back generations has solidified their 150-year-long success. It should also be noted that the jacquard weaving craft itself was directly taken from Indigenous nations in Oregon and used to mass-produce and acquire capital from those same neighboring nations.

 

Today the blankets and designs have become synonymous with the visual identity of Indigenous people. And its history does not come without controversy. While they’ve maintained a sort of symbiotic relationship, many Indigenous creatives have called attention to the company’s vapid cultural appropriation, by taking symbols, art and ideas from Indigenous people without immediate credit or compensation. Indigenous people who choose to use Pendleton’s pan-Indigenous cultural indicators walk a fine line between representation and appropriation. I don’t want that conversation to be dismissed, because it’s something I unpack daily in my own work.

It wasn’t until the ‘90s that Pendleton actually began hiring Indigenous creatives to partner with. And they have since implemented initiatives to support Indigenous communities, designers and share profits, most notably to the American Indian College Fund and The National Museum of the American Indian.

So the question still remains, why do I personally choose to use Pendleton fabrics in my design? As we’ve watched non-native brands from Lindsey Thornburg to Opening Ceremony profit off the use of our traditional work, be it inspired or not, there is a sense of reclamation in being an Indigenous designer working with these fabrics that are still so prevalent within our communities. I have the opportunity to create pieces for all people. We’re at a time when so many consumers are asking, “Can I, as a non-native person, wear this?” The resounding answer we give is YES, because the design is not rooted in ceremonial practices or tradition. If it were, I wouldn’t sell it to you. I wouldn’t sell it to anyone. I wouldn’t sell my traditions for capital.

Also as a child of the Pacific Northwest, there is a sense of pride working with these materials that are hand woven in my home state from local wool shepherds. The company is committed to sustainable and renewable practices and recognizes the inherent circularity of their product. Something that is extremely important to EMME Studio.

Continue reading the full interview here...